Classic 80s Albums- The Whole Story (1986)

The Whole Story is the first compilation album by English singer Kate Bush. Released in November 1986, it was Bush’s third UK number one album. The compilation went on to become her best-selling release to date, being certified four times platinum in the United Kingdom.

The album includes eleven of Bush’s previous singles, with a previously unreleased track entitled “Experiment IV”, which had been released as a single and reached the UK Top 30. A newly recorded version of Bush’s debut single “Wuthering Heights” (1978) opens the album. The album mix of “The Man with the Child in His Eyes” features on this album instead of the single version.

A home video compilation of the same name was released simultaneously, which includes the promotional videos for each song on the album.


Side 1

1. “Wuthering Heights” (New Vocal) The Kick Inside (1978) 4:57
2. “Cloudbusting” Hounds of Love (1985) 5:09
3. “The Man with the Child in His Eyes” The Kick Inside 2:38
4. “Breathing” Never for Ever (1980) 5:28
5. “Wow” Lionheart (1978) 3:46
6. “Hounds of Love”

Side 2

7. “Running Up That Hill” Hounds of Love 5:00
8. “Army Dreamers” Never for Ever 3:13
9. “Sat in Your Lap” The Dreaming (1982) 3:29
10. “Experiment IV” non-album single 4:21
11. “The Dreaming” The Dreaming 4:14
12. “Babooshka” Never for Ever 3:29

VHS Version

1. “Wuthering Heights” (VHS/VCD/Laserdisc editions use the original 1978 recording) 3:34
2. “Cloudbusting” 6:55
3. “The Man with the Child in His Eyes” 2:52
4. “Breathing” 5:31
5. “Wow” (VHS/VCD/Laserdisc editions feature a new alternate video produced especially for this compilation) 3:42
6. “Hounds of Love” 3:04
7. “Running Up That Hill” 4:55
8. “Army Dreamers” 3:17
9. “Sat in Your Lap” 3:30
10. “Experiment IV” 4:41
11. “The Dreaming” 4:09
12. “Babooshka” 3:26
13. “The Big Sky” (Only included on VHS/VCD/Laserdisc editions)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *