Classic 80s Albums- Running In The Family (1987)

Running in the Family is the seventh studio album by British band Level 42, released in 1987. It features the UK hit singles: “Lessons in Love” (which reached No. 3 in May 1986), “Running in the Family” (No. 6 in February 1987), “To Be with You Again” (No. 10 in April ’87), “It’s Over” (No. 10, in September 1987) and “Children Say” (No. 22 at the end of 1987). All five singles peaked in the top 10 in the Netherlands. “Lessons in Love” peaked at #1 in Germany, South Africa, Switzerland and Denmark. This was the last Level 42 album of the 1980s to feature brothers Phil (drums) and Rowland ‘Boon’ Gould (guitar), who had cited dissatisfaction with the musical direction of the band and exhaustion as departure reasons.

Later in 1987 the Platinum Edition of the album was issued. The CD and cassette versions replaced “Lessons in Love”, “Running in the Family” and “It’s Over” with remixed versions, and added remixes of “Something About You” and “World Machine” from Level 42’s previous album. On vinyl the remixes were featured on one 33rpm record which was shrink-wrapped to the standard edition of the album.

Track listing

  1. Lessons in Love” (Badarou, R. Gould, King) – 4:04
  2. Children Say” (King, Lindup, P. Gould) – 4:53
  3. Running in the Family” (P. Gould, Badarou, King) – 6:12
  4. It’s Over” (King, R. Gould, Badarou) – 6:02
  5. To Be with You Again” (King, R. Gould) – 5:19
  6. “Two Solitudes” (King, P. Gould, Lindup) – 5:17
  7. “Fashion Fever” (King, P. Gould, R. Gould, Lindup) – 4:35
  8. “The Sleepwalkers” (King, P. Gould) – 6:02
  9. Freedom Someday” (King, P. Gould, R. Gould, Lindup) – 6:20 (originally a bonus track on the CD and cassette)

2000 reissue bonus tracks

  1. “Lessons in Love” (Shep’s Final Mix) – 5:45
  2. “Children Say” (Slap Bass Mix) – 4:49
  3. “To Be with You Again” (A.D.S.C. Mix) – 5:45
  4. “Running in the Family” (HTL Dub) – 6:11

Band members

Additional musicians


  • Wally Badarou – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gary Barnacle – saxophone (“Lessons in Love”)
  • Krys Mach – saxophone (“Running in the Family”)
  • Julian Mendelssohn – additional backing vocals (“The Sleepwalkers”)

Chart positions


Chart (1987)Peak
UK Albums Chart2
US Billboard 20023


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *