Sorry! (TV Series)

Sorry! is a BBC television sitcom, that aired on BBC1 from 1981 to 1982 and from 1985 to 1988. Starring Ronnie Corbett, created and written by Ian Davidson and Peter Vincent for the BBC, both of whom had previously written for The Two Ronnies, of whom Corbett was one half.

The theme music was composed by Gaynor Colbourn and Hugh Wisdom, arranged by Gaynor Colbourn and conducted by Ronnie Hazlehurst.

Sorry! is based around Timothy Lumsden who, 41 years old in the first three series (his age increased to 42 and then 48 in subsequent series – Corbett was actually 50-57 during the series’ run), is a librarian who still lives at home with his domineering mother Phyllis and henpecked father Sidney. Although quite shy around women, Timothy longs to find love and leave home, but Phyllis is always against the idea, and constantly manipulates her son into staying at home. One of the running gags of the series is Sidney frequently shouting “Language, Timothy!” when he feels Timothy has said something inappropriate (though most times nobody would typically find the words even close to offensive). Timothy usually responds “Sorry father”, but sometimes snaps “Shut up, father!” to which Sidney always replies “Fair enough”.

In contrast, Timothy’s friend Frank and sister Muriel urge Timothy to stand up to his mother once and for all. Muriel had successfully left home, and married Kevin, and as a result is viewed with distrust by her mother.


  • Ronnie Corbett – Timothy Lumsden
  • Barbara Lott – Phyllis Lumsden
  • William Moore – Sidney Lumsden
  • Marguerite Hardiman – Muriel
  • Derek Fuke – Kevin
  • Roy Holder – Frank Baker
  • Wendy Allnutt – Jennifer (series 6)
  • Bridget Brice – Pippa (series 7)

The first two series of Sorry! were released on DVD under Playback Entertainment (Region 2, UK) in 2004. The DVD was put out of print in 2006, but the first series was re-released on DVD in 2007 under 2entertain & BBC Worldwide. It includes three audio commentaries by Ronnie Corbett. The second series was re-released in March 2008. The third, fourth, fifth and sixth series were released (for the very first time) on 2 August 2010 and 21 February, 20 June and 26 September 2011. The seventh (and final) series was released on 4 June 2012 along with the complete set of 7 DVDs.

In region 4, the first four series have been released.

DVD title No. of discs Year No. of episodes DVD release
Region 2 Region 4
Complete Series 1 1 1981 6 2 July 2007 12 September 2007
Complete Series 2 1 1982 6 17 March 2008 19 March 2008
Complete Series 3 1 1982 6 2 August 2010 8 October 2008
Complete Series 4 1 1985 6 21 February 2011 2 February 2011

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *