Me and My Girl

Me and My Girl TV series (1984-1989)

Me and My Girl is a 1980s British television situation comedy, starring Richard O’Sullivan, which centered on the challenges faced by a widower raising his adolescent daughter. It was broadcast on ITV between 1984 and 1988.
Main cast

Simon Harrap (Richard O’Sullivan) – Simon is a middle aged widower as his wife Ruth died about ten years before the series began. He has been bringing up his daughter Samantha since then and struggles to help her as she develops through her teenage years. He is also the Artistic Director of Eyecatchers, a promotions agency based in London.

Samantha “Sam” Harrap (Joanne Ridley) – Sam is the only daughter of Simon and is a teenager. Her mother died when she was very young and so she doesn’t remember her. She seeks the help of the women around her as she develops as a teenager.

Nell Cresset (Joan Sanderson) – Nell is Simon’s mother-in-law and Samantha’s grandmother. She is a matriarchal figure and intimidates a lot of men. She has also invested heavily in Eyecatchers and is meant to be a sleeping partner but likes to interfere with the running of the business. Despite this she is very kind, cares about her son-in-law a lot and provides the maternal advice Sam needs during her teenage years.

Derek Yates (Tim Brooke-Taylor) – Derek is the Managing Partner of Eyecatchers and one of Simon’s oldest friends. He is married to Muriel (who is never seen) and has a large and unknown number of children. He is portrayed as incompetent as he is henpecked by Muriel.

Madeleine “Maddie” Dunnock (Leni Harper) – Maddie is the Harrap’s first housekeeper. She is Scottish in origin.

Isobel McClusky (Sandra Clarke) – Isobel is the Harrap’s second housekeeper. Like her predecessor she is Scottish in origin. She is fiercely religious often going to confession.

Liz (Joanne Campbell) – Liz is Eyecatchers secretary and an aspiring actress. She works part-time so that she can attend auditions. She is a vivacious character.

Episode list

All episodes listed with their original ITV broadcast date.

Series 1

“I Love You Samantha” (31 August 1984)
“Design for Loving” (7 September 1984)
“The Ideal Husband” (14 September 1984)
“The Home Help” (21 September 1984)
“Jobs for the Girls” (28 September 1984)[1]
“A Clean Slate” (5 October 1984)

Series 2

“Love and Kittens” (18 January 1985)
“Let’s Talk Turkey” (25 January 1985)
“Sticky Fingers” (1 February 1985)
“The Kids Are Alright” (8 February 1985)
“Leaving On a Jet Plane” (15 February 1985)
“Swings and Roundabouts” (22 February 1985)
“You Take the High Road” (1 March 1985)

Series 3

“On Approval” (6 October 1985)
“Wild About Harry” (13 October 1985)
“Dangerous Corner” (18 October 1985)
“Goodbye Forever” (25 October 1985)
“A Woman of Taste” (1 November 1985)
“Put Yourself in My Place” (8 November 1985)
“Sam Who?” (15 November 1985)
“One Wild and Foolish Moment” (22 November 1985)
“Forty Years On” (29 November 1985)
“Picture of Harmony” (6 December 1985)
“An Inspector Calls” (13 December 1985)
“Nothing Like a Quiet Sunday” (20 December 1985)
“Faraway Places” (27 December 1985)

Series 4

“Love’s Young Dream” (10 January 1987)
“Marriage in Haste” (17 January 1987)
“The Rhinoceros and the Pussycat” (24 January 1987)
“Poor Uncle Derek” (31 January 1987)
“The Lost Weekend” (7 February 1987)
“Kissing Cousins” (14 February 1987)
“French Leave” (21 February 1987)
“A Single Night of Love” (28 February 1987)
“Lost and Found” (7 March 1987)
“A Star is Gorn” (14 March 1987)
“Pulling Power” (21 March 1987)
“An Offer You Can’t Refuse” (28 March 1987)
“Waiting for Adrian” (4 April 1987)

Series 5

“Like An Old Time Movie” (8 January 1988)
“Thinking About Fluffy” (15 January 1988)
“Question Time” (22 January 1988)
“A Couple of Rough Nights” (29 January 1988)
“Play Your Cards Right” (5 February 1988)
“Love Thy Neighbour” (12 February 1988)

Series 6

“I Wonder Who’s Kissing Him Now?” (23 September 1988)
“My Second Best Friend” (30 September 1988)
“The Story of Foxy-Features and Melon-Head” (7 October 1988)
“Mundane Monday” (14 October 1988)
“Only the Lonely” (21 October 1988)
“When You’re Smiling” (28 October 1988)
“A Bit of Overtime” (4th November 1988)

A classic but forgotten, much loved, TV series from The 1980s. 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *