Classic 80s Albums- Revenge (1986)

Revenge- Eurythmics (1986)

Revenge is the fifth studio album by British new wave duo Eurythmics. It was released on 30 June 1986 by RCA Records. Following on from their previous album, Be Yourself Tonight, Revenge continued further in this direction as the duo embraced a more “rock band” style. The album spawned four singles and was a commercial success. Its release was supported by an extensive world tour. A 1987 concert from the Australian leg of the tour was also released on home video as Eurythmics Live.

On 14 November 2005, Sony BMG released remastered versions of each of Eurythmics’ eight studio albums, containing bonus tracks and remixes. The bonus track “Revenge 2” is a radically different remake of “Revenge”, the closing track of the duo’s 1981 debut album In the Garden. A line from the song (“She said revenge can be so sweet”) is also heard at the end of “A Little of You”.


1.“Missionary Man”4:28
2.“Thorn in My Side”4:15
3.“When Tomorrow Comes”4:28
4.“The Last Time”4:10
5.“The Miracle of Love”5:04
6.“Let’s Go!”4:08
7.“Take Your Pain Away”4:30
8.“A Little of You”3:53
9.“In This Town”3:44
10.“I Remember You”5:00


  • Annie Lennox – percussion, keyboards, vocals
  • David A. Stewart – guitar, keyboards, programming, vocals

Additional personnel

  • Jon Bavin – additional keyboards on track 5
  • Clem Burke – drums
  • Phil Chen – bass guitar on tracks 4 & 10
  • Gully – synthesizer on track 5
  • Joniece Jamison – background vocals
  • Michael Kamen – strings, conductor, orchestration
  • John McKenzie – bass guitar on tracks 2, 3, 5, 7 & 8
  • Patrick Seymour – keyboards
  • Jannick Top – bass guitar on track 1 & 6
  • Bernita Turner – background vocals
  • Jimmy “Z” Zavala – harmonica, saxophone


  • Producer – Dave Stewart
  • Engineer – Jon Bavin
  • Assistant engineer – Serge Pauchard
  • Mixing – Jon Bavin, Manu Guiot
  • Orchestration – Michael Kamen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *