The A Team

The A-Team is an American action adventure television series about a fictional group of ex-United States Army Special Forces who work as soldiers of fortune while being on the run from the military for a “crime they didn’t commit”.

The A-Team was created by veteran writers and producers Frank Lupo (Riptide and Hunter) and Stephen J. Cannell (The Rockford Files, The Greatest American Hero and 21 Jump Street). The series was developed as a cross between Seven Samurai (and its western remake The Magnificent Seven) and The Dirty Dozen, with “Mr. T driving the car”, at the behest of late Brandon Tartikoff, NBC’s Entertainment president. It also had vague elements of Mad Max.

Despite being thought of as mercenaries by the other characters in the show, the A-Team always acted on the side of the good guys and helped the oppressed. The show ran for five seasons, from January 23, 1983 to December 30, 1986 (with one additional, previously unbroadcast episode shown on March 8, 1987), with a total of 98 episodes.

It remains known in popular culture for its use of over-the-top violence, formulaic episodes and its distinctive opening theme. It has been parodied on numerous websites such as Newgrounds and also on television shows such as Robot Chicken, Family Guy and Spaced. The show also served as the springboard for the career of Mr. T, who portrayed the character of B. A. Baracus, around which the show was largely written.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *